Skip to content
March 23, 2010 / Ryan Cohick

She & Him’s ‘Volume Two’ is pure delight

She & Him

Source: sheandhim.com / Autumn De Wilde

I’m trying my new blogging format today, where I write more often (and more for me) while staying short and simple.

Today seems like a good day to get this idea rolling since I just finished my first listen of She & Him‘s newly-released “Volume Two.” Like “Volume One,” the album is sweet and simple. It’ll make you smile from beginning to end.

It’ll take a few more listens until I can determine if this album impresses me as much as the first, but I’d say Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward are on the right track. At this point, “In the Sun” and “If You Can’t Sleep” stick out to me more than the rest. “If You Can’t Sleep,” like “Swing Low Sweet Chariot” did on “Volume One,” closes the album with a slightly different sound than the rest of the tracks, utilizing only vocal backings and Deschanel softly singing. Rather than a spiritual, though, it’s a lullaby this time around.

If you liked “Volume One,” you’ll definitely like “Volume Two,” perhaps even more so over time.

Have you gotten the album yet? Share your thoughts on it in the comment section below.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Greg / Mar 23 2010 10:03 pm

    I love it as well. Got my vinyl copy of it from Merge today and it is awesome! Such a great record just in time for me to play when I move in to my new home. Sweet and summery… just the way to roll in spring.

Leave a Reply

