Skip to content
June 13, 2009 / Ryan Cohick

‘The Hangover’ is a movie worth remembering

"The Hangover," in theaters now, is a must-see!

Wow. I don’t even know where to start.

Vegas and tigers and weddings, oh my!

I guess I can start by telling you all to go see “The Hangover.” I’m seriously considering declaring it the funniest movie I’ve ever seen. I even think it might have some life to it, waiting to provide me with endless laughs everytime I pop it into the DVD player.

But for now it’s in theaters, and here’s what I have to say about it. Beware, there might be a few spoilers here and there…

Let me preface this by saying that I knew next to nothing about “The Hangover,” except how hilarious it supposedly is. Anyone that tells you it’s a hilarious movie is telling you the truth.

The premise has all the ingredients for a shit show, both good or bad. When the movie started, I was afraid it would end up being the stereotypical story of a group of best friends throwing the soon-to-be-married one of the group the ultimate bachelor party. I was wrong. The movie actually never shows the events of the bachelor party itself. Instead it fast-forwards right through the crazy night so that the audience gets to ask the questions with the main characters. In matter of fact, there are even a few loose ends by the end of the movie. I’m thinking we might see them tied up in an unrated version.

Oh, did I mention that the soon-to-be-married one isn’t even most of the money. The focus is on the adventure of the three other friends and the retracing of the events from the night before.

And the fact that “The Hangover” stays focused is what it makes it so great. When I think of serious comedy like this, I think of “The 40 Year Old Virgin.” It had a conceivable storyline, yet immensely hilarious. “The Hangover” does the same thing: It’s completely conceivable. I could just imagine getting myself into a whole heap of trouble. I mean, remember: “What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas, except for herpes. That shit’ll come back with you.”

But the nice thing about the movie is that it never dips into the sappy that “The 40 Year Old Virgin” does. That movie would be perfect if I didn’t have to go through the emotional roller coaster that it takes its viewers on every single time. “The Hangover” provides the laughs without bringing in too much emotion. Also, keep in mind: “The Hangover” isn’t senseless and silly, too, like “Dude, Where’s My Car?” In fact, I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that “The Hangover” is everything I wanted “Dude, Where’s My Car?” to be. The characters in this movie don’t run into all of the ridiculousness that is “Dude, Where’s My Car?”

Now, for the punchline: the humor. I’ve never laughed so hard in a movie before. I even walked out laughing! The movie goes from the ridiculous – watch out for Mike Tyson’s tiger hanging out in the awesome Cesar Palace suite – to the usual shannanagins when the three main characters get tasered. But none of it overboard. I never felt like I was watching something completely out of this world.

I don’t usually do this with a comedy, but this is the point where I’m going to recommend you all go see “The Hangover.” It’s a crazy ride that will keeep you laughing from beginning to end without ever dipping into the realms of too ridiculous or too sappy. The characters will make you want to go on a crazy adventure with your best friends while providing you with smart and witty humor. In short, “The Hangover” provides its viewers a glimpse into the day after without the wicked hangover that we all hate to go through.

For more trailers and sneak peeks, check out “The Hangover” trailer and video page. And for you IMDB junkies, here’s a link to the IMDB page for the movie.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Harrison Astle / Feb 8 2010 1:18 pm

    Hi – really good web site you have established. I enjoyed reading this posting. I did want to issue a comment to tell you that the design of this site is very aesthetically delightful. I used to be a graphic designer, now I am a copy editor in chief for a marketing firm. I have always enjoyed functioning with computing machines and am trying to learn code in my spare time (which there is never enough of lol).

    • Ryan Cohick / Feb 8 2010 1:30 pm

      Thanks for the kinds words! I hear you on learning code. Fortunately content management providers, like WordPress, make life a lot easier.

  2. omar / Mar 28 2010 2:45 pm

    I live here in arizona. Just wanted to ask when did the movie The Hangover leave the movie theaters?

Trackbacks

  1. ‘The Hangover’ is a movie worth remembering | Jewelry News
  2. The Hangover Review « RaaD Technology, Movies and News

Leave a Reply

