Skip to content
April 23, 2009 / Ryan Cohick

Justin Nozuka surprises with ‘Holly’

Justin Nozuka | myspace.com/justinnozuka

Justin Nozuka

I don’t often stumble across musicians out of the blue. In fact, I usually am led easily by the likes of friends, Stereogum or Pitchfork. In the case of Justin Nozuka, a random Google search led me to him and a surprisingly good album, titled “Holly.”

Justin Nozuka is originally from Queens in New York City. This 20 year-old singer and songwriter has been writing his own songs since he was 12. In fact, two of the songs on “Holly” were written when he was 15.

The album, which was released in 2007, has a mainly pop feel to it. Watch out for similarities to Jason Mraz and Ray LaMontagne. The LaMontagne likeness is especially noticeable in the song “After Tonight.” It’s a powerful love song that displays Nozuka’s ability to sound good while singing about something meaningful. In terms of lyrics, this is definitely my favorite song on the album.

If you don’t believe me, here’s the video for the song:

Another song that stuck out to me was “Golden Train.” In fact, I haven’t been able to stop listening to this song throughout the day. It’s just one of those songs that captivates with its refreshing sound and intriguing lyrics.

Here’s the video for “Golden Train”:

If you’d like to hear more of Justin Nozuka, be sure to check out his MySpace page.

Familiar with Justin Nozuka? Be sure to leave comments about what you think of the album or the songs posted above.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kitty DeHart / Apr 23 2009 3:24 am

    Ry, Thank you for introducing me to Justin Nozuka. I likey.

  2. Rosie / Apr 23 2009 10:31 pm

    Justin Nozuka is an amazing musician! More people need to know about him, so thank you for this post!

    Golden Train is definitely one of my favourites. I do prefer the album version to the video version though. The vibe of the album version just seems to fit the mood of the song (dreamy, whimsical). After Tonight is beautifully written too… lots of imagery and very romantic. I love the Rnbisms with the “no, no, no” ‘s during the chorus!

  3. ezeanyi / Apr 21 2010 10:59 pm

    I haven’t heard the whole of Holly but I’ve heard the whole of his new album and did a review on my blog (http://raverantreview.wordpress.com/). I’m definitely gonna have to get Holly now.

Leave a Reply

